L’Arte di Non Fare Niente

It is hard to believe, but in less than a week, I will be back in America. After more than three months abroad, I keep trying to tell myself that the clock and calendar will suddenly freeze, and I will be able to stay in Florence forever.

Although there is plenty of magic to be found in the Renaissance city, it seems there is nothing that can be done to stop time. Perhaps even worse, my last few days in Italy will not be a time of relaxation or contemplation. Rather, with my semester officially ending next Thursday, my to-do list includes a nine-page art history paper, 2,500 words for a class on European globalization, an Italian composition and two other tests to worry about.

Yet amid the craziness of finals, I am making a strong effort to practice l’arte di non fare niente. Italian for “the art of doing nothing,” this saying epitomizes the Italian ability to spend hours on end doing seemingly nothing. This is in sharp contrast to the fast-paced, have-to-do-it-all lifestyle of the typical American. With Starbucks coffee in hand and Blackberrys in their pockets, Americans seem to race from point A to B without ever taking a break.

To read more, check out the original post for Georgetown’s weekly magazine The Guide.

4 thoughts on “L’Arte di Non Fare Niente

  1. L’arte di non fare niente!!! When you find the way to do this please give me every little detail. I am so busy all the time that I really admir people who can manage not to do anything and feel happy. Believe it or not I am very stressed when I don’t work.

  2. Pingback: No Ferragosto for Me | Le Colline e La Città

  3. Pingback: 2011: A Year in Review | Le Colline e La Città

  4. Pingback: Just What the Doctor Ordered | Loves to (Nu)Tella Story

Leave a comment