Foodie Penpals

Clearly I have been in a blogging rut.

It is not so much that I have nothing to write about it; in fact I have plenty of stories about late night Gossip Girl-watching sessions to visits to U-Street to free Sprinkles Cupcakes (actually all stories from just one night!). Unfortunately, however, since coming back from spring break I have been swamped with more time sensitive and, arguably, more important priorities (i.e. homework) that has kept me from posting. And while I did promise once again to make a conscious effort to blog, things like my thesis proposal, papers about Kant and newspaper production have kept me a little preoccupied.

Recognizing a need for some motivation and commitment to lure me back into the blogosphere, I stumbled upon the Foodie Penpals program. The brainchild of Lindsay Livingston at The Lean Green Bean, the project aims to connect food bloggers and readers beyond the World Wide Web through the exchange of food-filled care packages.

The Lean Green Bean

As a financially strapped college student, the thought of getting a package from the RHO filled solely with food items definitely heightened the appeal of the program. Since one of the requirements of participation is writing up a post summarizing what came in the mail, the program also provided me with an inexcusable incentive to sit down at my computer and type up a few hundred words.

This month was my first time participating in the program, and I was fortunate enough to receive my package  from Kayla of the blog Sprouty Buns.  Having told her about my vegetarian lifestyle, my strong dislike for anything peanut and my obsession with yogurt-covered everything, she sent me a bunch of fantastic goodies that fit my tastes and my lifestyle.

In my package:

  • Roasted edamame: I’m not the biggest fan of plain edamame, but these were unbelievable! Roasted and dusted with wasabi powder, these are a great protein-packed alternative to my standby bag of salted almonds. But while delicious, these cannot be swallowed by the handful unless you have a bottle of water (or two) nearby to wash down the heat of the wasabi.
  • Yogi Granola Crisps: In my initial message to Kayla, I never mentioned that I was a self-proclaimed yogi, so I loved that there was something in my box that matched my personality. These crisps are extra crunchy,  sweet and packed with whole grain goodness, putting my plain rice cakes to shame.
  • Fruit leathers: When I was younger, my favorite part of lunch was the snacks accompanying my boring grape jelly sandwich. Dunkaroos and assorted mini bags of chips were commonplace, but I most looked forward to the days when I could find and unwrap a fruit roll-up. Unlike the high fructose laden products of lunches past, Kayla sent me some no sugar-added fruit, all natural fruit leathers. With flavors like cherry, mango and grape, these transported me back to the fourth grade lunch table, but without the extra sugar and uneven pig tails.
  • Yogurt pretzels: When I saw the package of yogurt-covered pretzels I couldn’t help but break into it right away. The combination of sweet and salty quickly made me forget about the pop Statistics quiz I had been surprised with an hour earlier. Although I probably consumed more than a serving of pretzels in less than 5 minutes, I easily justified the indulgence as my calcium intake for the day (they are covered in “yogurt” after all).

A big thanks to Kayla for such a wonderful package. Her letter and carefully constructed package were a comforting and delicious introduction to the Foodie Penpals program. The mix of sweet, salty, spicy and fruity flavors has kept my taste buds dancing, and  I’m already wondering what I have to look forward to when I receive a new package next month through this foodie exchange.

If you are interested in becoming involved in the Foodie Penpals Program, here’s some details:

  • On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
  • You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
  • The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
  • You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
  • Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
  • Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents. Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. So, I’m going to keep two separate lists and match US w/ US and Canada w/ Canada!
  • If you’re interested in participating for April, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by April 4th as pairings will be emailed on April 5th!

5 thoughts on “Foodie Penpals

  1. Pingback: April Foodie Penpals | Loves to (Nu)Tella Story

Leave a Reply

