Word of the Week

Considering that I am living with an Italian family and studying the language as part of my course load this semester, I am learning a variety of new vocabulary words each and every day. Whether talking with my host mom, watching the Italian soap operas at dinner, or speaking with our host mom’s grandson about where to go in Florence, my arsenal of Italian words and phrases is increasing tremendously. In light of this, I decided that each week I would share one of my newly learned words. This week the word is:

Secchiona

Una persona che studia troppo e non pensa ad altro

Which translates to:

Nerd

A person who studies too much and thinks of nothing else

 

Although my Italian professor explained that this word in Italian has a negative connotation, I find this word to be a particularly accurate description of myself, and I see no shame in it 🙂


Leave a Reply

